IMG_6066.jpeg

Catherine Alexandre, nicknamed Cate

She is a self-taught and multidisciplinary artist born in France, she composes her creations from elements mainly found in his environment.

After studying English literature in Paris, her passion for textiles led Catherine A to a career as  costume designer for cinema and theater in 1985. In 1997 when she moved to the countryside in the South-West France she discovered the universes of interior design and floral decoration.

 

After exhibiting her work at Gençay (France), Catherine A. started collaborating  with an experienced floral designer with whom she developed new artistic sensibility & skills. At the same time, she began taking advanced courses in interior design and obtained her degree in interior design in 2008.

 

On her return to Paris in 2011, she picked up drawing and painting again and twice exhibited at La Galerie des Bons Enfants. She received the L'Esprit de Paris prize in 2016.

 

Very concerned for the environment, Catherine A. have researched alternative mediums and processes, and she is now concentrating on the use of traditional methods for the extraction of colors from plants. 

Cate creates each design, each color from plants, preparing and printing in the studio. Her design reflects the influence of nature and have their origins in the Anglo-Saxon Arts & Crafts movement, the following artists W. Morris, The Four, K. Moser, k. Serizawa.  

She creates Alexandre Vegetal Art - AVA Paris in 2019, developing collaborations with several young designers. In 2021, Catherine A. designs her first collection of fabric for home linen,  printed by hand  "à la lyonnaise", which will be on sale in the fall of 2021.

IMG_6066.jpeg

Catherine Alexandre

Artiste autodidacte et multidisciplinaire, compose ses créations à partir d’éléments principalement trouvés dans son environnement.

Après des études d’anglais, passionnée par le textile, Catherine Alexandre commence une carrière comme costumière-ensemblière pour le cinéma et le théâtre en 1985. Un déménagement dans la campagne française du Sud-Ouest en 1997 l’amène à explorer d’autres univers, la décoration d’intérieur et la décoration florale.

 

A la faveur d’une exposition de ses créations Gençay, elle s’associe à une décoratrice florale qui lui transmet les techniques de base de ce nouveau mode d’expression. En parallèle, Catherine Alexandre poursuit des études de décoration d’intérieure jusqu’à l’obtention d’un diplôme d’architecte d’intérieur en 2008.

 

De retour à Paris en 2011, elle reprend le dessin, la peinture et expose à deux reprises à la Galerie des Bons Enfants. Elle est lauréate de l’édition 2016 de L’Esprit de Paris, prix lancé à l’initiative des Ateliers de Paris.

 

Depuis 2017, soucieuse de l’impact sur l’environnement, Catherine Alexandre développe un travail de création à travers un nouveau médium, le végétal en teinture et impression à la main, en sérigraphie et au tampon.

 

Chaque motif est créé à partir de ses dessins, chaque couleur à partir de décoction de plantes préparé et imprimé à l’atelier. Ses créations uniques reflètent l’influence de la nature et tire ses origines dans le mouvement Arts & Crafts anglo-saxon, les artistes suivants W. Morris, The Four, K. Moser, k. Serizawa constituant ses principales références. 

2019 c'est la création de Alexandre Vegetal Art - AVA Paris. Depuis elle développe des collaborations avec plusieurs jeunes créateurs qui souhaitent appliquer la couleur végétale à  leur collection. En 2021, Catherine après un emménagement dans un nouvel atelier, elle dessine une nouvelle collection d'édition textile pour la maison qui sera imprimé au cadre plat, dit "à la lyonnaise", qui sera en vente à l'automne 2021.